That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Ciara – Fantasy Ride [Reviews]

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on December 15, 2010

A consistent hit-maker for three straight years, Ciara dominated radio and clubs with everything from her debut single, “Goodies,” to its crunk & B cousin, “That’s Right.” After a short break, CiCi returned with Fantasy Ride.

Though pushed back several months and missing the T-Pain collaboration, “Go Girl,” the album is full of fresh material and some that pays homage to hits from Ciara’s past.

The first such track is “Ciara To the Stage,” the set-opener on which the Princess of Crunk & B croons (and at one point raps) over a slow jam melody that’s reminiscent of The Evolution’s “Promise.” Here begins the first of many cuts in which Princess C brags about her sexual prowess, but few attempts are as effective as “Love Sex Magic” with Justin Timberlake, which is as hot with its video as it sounds on your iPod.

Ciara’s vocal experimentation on “High Price” features fellow ATL emissary Ludacris. Rather than replicating their first collabo “Oh!” Ciara belts operatic verses that are accented by a cartoonishly delivered chorus. The unusual demonstration is paired with Ludacris’ trademark ― and welcome ― flow, which single-handedly saves the song. (Guilty pleasure lyric: “Booty looks softer than a McDonald’s hamburger bun.” We can’t make this stuff up.)

It wouldn’t be a Ciara record without floor-fillers and “Work” is the best offering on Fantasy Ride. Here, CiCi again teams up with a partner from the past: the one and only Missy Elliott. Given the hotness of “1, 2 Step” and “Lose Control,” it’s no surprise that “Work,” which borders the edge between old-school hip-hop and a house jam, will be a party-starter with its supportive chants and pounding commands.

Taking the alphabetic approach, “G Is for Girl (A-Z)” schools listeners that G stands for “girl-like gangsta” over a funky, electric guitar-infused hip-hop beat. Channeling funk of the Prince variety is “Lover’s Thing,” a duet with The-Dream about a two-way love that’s over, yet each participant desperately desires the other’s return.

More diverse than past discs, Fantasy Ride is an engaging ticket through the many eclectic genres found within today’s R&B. Though some songs focus intently on bump N Grind lyrics, there are more than enough uptempo tracks to not alienate Ciara’s fan base and plenty of experimental tracks to keep them intrigued.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Ciara to the Stage”
2. “Love Sex Magic” feat. Justin Timberlake
3. “High Price” feat. Ludacris
4. “Turntables” feat. Chris Brown
5. “Like a Surgeon”
6. “Never Ever” feat. Young Jeezy
7. “Lover’s Thing” feat. The-Dream
8. “Work” feat. Missy Elliott
9. “Pucker Up”
10. “G Is for Girl (A-Z)
11. “Keep Dancin’ on Me”
12. “Tell Me What Your Name Is”
13. “I Don’t Remember”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: