That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Chromeo – Business Casual [Reviews]

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on October 13, 2010

Dave 1
and P-Thugg, the duo better known as Chromeo, serve up their third helping of electro-synth-pop with their latest album, Business Casual.

The disc proves it’s business as usual, led by the funky radio release “Don’t Turn the Lights On,” a track whose guitar licks may remind listeners of those heard on Kool & the Gang’s “Celebration.” But disco isn’t the only retro rhythm at play here, as B-boy melodies underlie this mellow groove.

“Hot Mess” is a humorous set-starter, featuring a British-accented female declaring “I don’t know what you want from me/I’m not a bloody social worker,” to which Dave 1 retorts “The way I was acting was just fine but then lately/I sorta noticed a shift/Everyday was Christmas time for you lady/You got showered with gifts.”

Blessed by Chic’s “Good Times” is “Don’t Walk Away,” a track as vocally simplistic as it is heartfelt, finding Dave 1 pleading with his lady friend to stick around. P-Thugg’s Vocoder gets quite the workout while complementing his partner’s unusually high vocal range on “Night By Night,” which sounds heavily influenced by the soundtrack to Flashdance.

“You Make It Rough” puts the latter two songs into a blender and spices things up with heavy keyboard synths, delivering a progressive electro funk melody that reaffirms the band isn’t an anachronism. “When the Night Falls” takes the pair back to the norm, but this time, Dave 1 shares chorus duties with a welcome female voice ― that of Solange.

Business Casual is a comfortable effort from Chromeo that refuses to stray too far from the band’s already-proven formula. That said, if you are a fan of the first two albums, Business Casual simply adds more music to the niche, with a few eclectic sprinkles tossed in for variety.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Hot Mess”
2. “I’m Not Contagious”
3. “Night By Night”
4. “Don’t Turn the Lights Out”
5. “You Make It Rough”
6. “When the Night Falls” feat. Solange
7. “Don’t Walk Away”
8. “J’ai Claqué La Porte”
9. “The Right Type”
10. “Grow Up”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: