That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Chromeo – Fancy Footwork (Deluxe Edition) [Reviews]

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on July 14, 2010

unapologetically produces catchy electro synth-pop reminiscent of early ’80s dance — traces of which somehow became ubiquitous in nearly every genre at the time. As such, this two-disc collection — featuring 2007’s Fancy Footwork album, and another disc with the band’s “greatest hits” and remixes — proves the group’s niche is kitsch.

The duo receives house treatment on the Crookers’ remix of their bouncing title track, while Laidback Luke’s take on the song is a deeper house-n-go number that dabbles in garage.

“Needy Girl” [Lifelike Remix] is an extended atmospheric groove that could find itself comfortably positioned in a DJ set between Afrika Bambaataa’s “Planet Rock” and Irene Cara’s “Flashdance (What A Feeling).”

“Bonafied Lovin’ (Tough Guys)” would sound heavenly if blended with Rihanna’s “Push Up on Me” (DJs, take note), but is one of the best on the album for its disco/synth throwback factor, along with “Opening Up (Ce Soir On Danse).”

Though not every remix is a winner (specifically “Destination Overdrive” [DFA Remix] and “Bonafied Lovin’” [Yusek Remix]), and though not the most lyrically sophisticated re-release, Fancy Footwork [Deluxe Edition] does feature some clever wordplay that seems appropriate for melodies Dave One and Pee Thug create. And if fun is the goal of this project, the duo easily succeeds with this collection, which is perfect for that “guilty pleasures” playlist.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
Disc 1:
1. “Intro”
2. “Tenderoni”
3. “Fancy Footwork”
4. “Bonafied Lovin’ (Tough Guys)”
5. “My Girl is Calling Me (A Liar)”
6. “Outta Sight”
7. “Opening Up (Ce Soir On Danse)”
8. “Momma’s Boy”
9. “Call Me Up”
10. “Waiting 4 U”
11. “100%”
“Fancy Footwork”
“Bonafied Lovin’”
“Needy Girl”
“I Am Somebody”

Disc 2:
1. “Needy Girl”
2. “Rage!”
3. “You’re So Gangsta”
4. “I Am Somebody” feat. DJ Medhi
5. “Tenderoni” [MSTRKRFT Remix]
6. “Fancy Footwork” [Crookers Remix]
7. “Needy Girl” [Lifelike Remix]
8. “Bonafied Lovin’” [Yusek Remix]
9. “Me & My Man” [Whitey vs. Chromeo Fly Whitey Remix]
10. “You’re So Gangsta” [Playgroup Remix]
11. “Destination Overdrive” [DFA Remix]
12. “Fancy Footwork” [Laidback Luke Remix]
13. “Bonafied Lovin’” [Jori Hulkkonen Remix]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: