That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Kelis – Flesh Tone [Reviews]

Posted by on July 7, 2010

After a nasty divorce with her longtime beau Nas, Kelis found herself on the receiving end of vengeful fans. Unfortunate, given that for more than a decade, she was a sweetheart in the world of pop and R&B, serving up memorable hits such as “Caught Out There,” “Bossy” and “Milkshake,” and with fans and critics alike confidently proclaiming that she was the future.

To try to live up to that potential, Kelis releases Flesh Tone, a nine-song compilation of electronic compositions produced by the likes of Benny Benassi, David Guetta and Will.I.Am. The soulful house rhythm of the lead single, “4th of July (Fireworks),” blends with heavy piano keys as Kelis compares America’s birthday to her own newfound independence and reborn love life.

A little house, but definitively trance is “Home,” full of “whoa-oh-ohs” and deep thoughts of “running in a race to find what we’re searching for.” “Brave” is an acidic-with-a-touch-of-strings cut on which Kelis declares her strength and growth.

“Song for the Baby” channels modern disco, the likes of which haven’t been perfectly executed since Modjo’s “Lady” and Stardust’s “The Music Sounds Better with You.” Over rousing horns, Kelis promises her young son that she’ll “love you more than you’ll ever know” on Flesh Tone’s most emotionally uplifting inclusion.

The disc flawlessly fuses dance, pop and R&B. On one hand, the album’s short track list is essentially dance floor heaven, but given Kelis’ previous work, the album seems to come up short, lacking much lyrical depth and even the cleverness of previous outings (“I hate you so much right now” and the screaming that ensued afterward on “Caught Out There” are, in our minds, pure genius). It doesn’t stop us from fully enjoying it, though, as Kelis continues to chase her “full potential.”

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Intro”
2. “22nd Century”
3. “4th of July (Fireworks)”
4. “Home”
5. “Acapella”
6. “Scream”
7. “Emancipate”
8. “Brave”
9. “Song for the Baby”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: