That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Toni Braxton – Pulse [Reviews]

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on May 5, 2010

No one has ever doubted that Toni Braxton had talent. Ever since Babyface introduced her to us with their duet, 1992’s “Give U My Heart,” the pixie-haired vixen continued to seduce us with her subtle sex appeal and powerfully controlled vocals.

At some point in her career, Toni started embracing all things sexy, rocking long flowy wigs and singing in almost incoherent whispers. With her latest disc, Pulse, she’s ditched two of the three, returning to her roots as a powerhouse vocalist.

Nowhere are her skills more appreciated than on “Make My Heart.” Braxton sings with clarity as she keeps pace with a funky, juke joint beat that’s accented with the cosmic screeches sonically similar to those in Usher’s “Red Light.” This isn’t her only contribution to the dance floor. “Lookin’ At Me” embodies Beyoncé’s “Get Me Bodied” as Toni flirtatiously calls out a male admirer.

Like “Love Shoulda Brought You Home”? Then you’ll love “Wardrobe,” one of Pulse’s female empowerment anthems. A repetitious “I’m redoing my wardrobe” and other catchy euphemisms find Braxton cleaning out the closet that is her love life, going so far as to donate her current “belongings” to charity. She extends more effort toward saving her relationship on the album’s title track with, appropriately, comparisons of cardiac revival.

Thematically similar to “Wardrobe” is “Yesterday.” Braxton demonstrates her impressive range, which is in perfect synch with the rising, contemporary R&B melody. Kicking someone to the curb never sounded so artistic and, at times, dramatic.

There are plenty of other ballads, forays into the sensual and even a bona fide country song (“If I Have to Wait”) on this set, but one thing is clear: Toni took her time on this project. She recognized what had been missing from some of her previous albums and remembered what made fans fall in love with her in the first place. They wanted the confidence, the clarity and the consistency, and she’s breathed all three into her sound with Pulse.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now

4. Get It On Sale

3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store

1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Yesterday”
2. “Make My Heart”
3. “Hands Tied”
4. “Woman”
5. “If I Have to Wait”
6. “Lookin’ At Me”
7. “Wardrobe”
8. “Hero”
9. “No Way”
10. “Pulse”
11. “Why Won’t You Love Me”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: