That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Madonna Reduces, Reuses and Recycles [iTune-Ups]

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on April 9, 2010


As the world’s reigning queen of pop (sorry GaGa), Madonna has the hefty tasks of staying fashion-forward, piquing the public’s interest and remaining musically relevant. Tastemaker status can be tiresome job, which is why we should forgive Madge for occasionally recycling lyrics.

We’ve put some of the lyrics side-by-side for our loyal readers to see the similarities and differences, but we suggest legally downloading these tracks for an aural comparison.

The Original
“Get into the groove, boy / You got to prove your love to me” – “Into the Groove” (1985)

The Borrower
“It doesn’t matter if you win or lose / It’s how you play the game, so get into the groove” – “Causing a Commotion” (1987)

The Original
“Come on, vogue / Let your body move to the music (move to the music) / Hey, hey, hey / Come on, vogue / Let your body go with the flow (go with the flow) / You know you can do it” – “Vogue” (1990)

The Borrower
“You got to just let your body move to the music / You got to just let your body go with the flow” – “Deeper and Deeper” (1992)

The Originals
“I don’t wanna be your mother / I don’t wanna be your sister either /I just wanna be your lover” – “Justify My Love” (1990)

“Happiness lies in your own hand / It took me much too long to understand” – “Secret” (1994)

The Borrower
“I could be your sister, I could be your mother / We could be friends, I’d even be your brother / But I’d rather be your lover / That’s right, I’d rather be your lover”

and

“And all that I know (all that I know) / Is I just don’t understand (just don’t understand) / Why my, mmmm, happiness always lies / In the palm of your hand” – “I’d Rather Be Your Lover” (1994)

Are you a fan of the originals or the borrowers? Let us know in the comments.

One Response to “Madonna Reduces, Reuses and Recycles [iTune-Ups]”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Berny S, Mervy Sansom. Mervy Sansom said: Madonna Reduces, Reuses and Recycles [iTune-Ups] « That's My Jam http://bit.ly/doBPOc […]

Leave a Reply

 
