That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Fred Everything – Lost Together [Reviews]

Posted by on March 10, 2010

Fred Everything’s first album of all original material for Om Records, Lost Together, finds the Canadian DJ/producer doing what he does best: embracing his moniker by showcasing a variety of dance music styles.

The set opener “On My Own” features Roy Davis Jr. and is reminiscent of big beat tracks produced by such genre innovators as Fatboy Slim, Moby and the Chemical Brothers. The tune’s lyrics are less whimsical as Davis explains the song’s breakup situation, with music serving as his mistress and the hope that his ex-love can “have a good time” without him. The beats go from big to break on “St-Viateur,” whose gibberish-like verses are complemented by a “yes”-chanting group of background singers.

“Stay” features Tim Fuller, and the track is very similar to the soulful house Fuller has made with Miguel Migs, but Everything puts his stamp on the song with a harder bass line and a utilization of synthesizer-produced atmospherics. Another Migs collaborator, Lisa Shaw, makes an appearance on the album’s lead single, “Here I Am,” a hypnotic track with great bass that’s beautifully accented by an orchestra.

While “Lying to You” features Tortured Soul crooning over a straight-from-the-’70s disco rhythm, the passionate vocals of Wayne Tennant bounce over “Mercyless,” an organ-infused, garage-y 2Step melody. Additionally, “Don’t Nobody” is a radio- and club-ready record sung by the Brand New HeaviesN’Dea Davenport that’s full of sing-along hooks and a catchy house melody.

Lost Together is a very balanced electronica album, with plenty of differentiated beats, and the right mix of instrumentation and vocals. While this effort’s foundation is soulful house, the uptempo beats engage listeners as each track noticeably progresses into the next.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale

3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store

1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Radio Everything (Interlude)”
2. “On My Own” feat. Roy Davis Jr.
3. “St-Viateur”
4. “Stay” feat. Lisa Shaw
5. “Here I Am”
6. “Lost (Together)”
7. “Mercyless” feat. Wayne Tennant
8. “Lying to You” feat. Tortured Soul
9. “Mile End (Interlude)”
10. “Understand”
11. “Don’t Nobody” feat. N’Dea Davenport
12. “Shinjuku Ramen”
13. “Mile End”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: