That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Sound Off – Kaskade: The Om Remixes

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on January 20, 2009

The latest albums making noise

Om Records already has one of the most talented rosters of funky house DJs around, and their A&R man Ryan Raddon, better known as Kaskade, has remixed several of the label’s biggest hits. His new collection, The Om Remixes, reinterprets some of the best San Francisco-style house tracks for a mostly pleasurable listening (and dancing) experience.

Epitomizing this sound is Mark Farina‘s “To Do” [Kaskade Carry On Mix], which utilizes deep bass tinged with break beats crispness before building to a horn-infused, rhythm-pounding climax. Equally percussion-driven, though more tribal in melody, is Afro-Mystik‘s “Natural,” the Kaskade Roots Remix that is composed of bongo-originated beats paired with a narcotic set of vocals. The set opener, Colette‘s “Feelin’ Hypnotized,” induces a trance-like harmony with angelic echoing over a continuous beat.

“If I Fall” [Kaskade Soulshower Mix] is a classic contribution to the collection from Naked Music NYC that relies on organic instrumentation to complement the incessant pounding house rhythm, while King Kooba‘s “If I Could” lives up to its remix moniker (Kaskade More Pop Mix) and could easily find placement on late ’90s/early ’00s genre playlist.

Things mellow out on “Builder” [Kaskade Let’s Make Out Mix], Rithma‘s stripped downtempo groove that’s full of trancey atmospherics and live instruments. Kaskade himself closes the set and keeps the BPMs slow on “Steppin’ Out” [Kaskade Chill Out Mix], a cut with shivering vocals laid over a melodious guitar.

The Om Remixes flows from track to track and keeps the set diverse with the mellow songs that close out the disc. There are plenty of party starters, a few obscurities and couple of tracks that are average and easy to overlook, but in all, the album is a fun addition to a true house aficionado’s collection.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:

5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List
1. Colette – “Feelin’ Hypnotized” [Kaskade Mix]
2. J Boogie’s Dubtronic Science with Omega – “Rainfall” [Kaskade Remix]
3. Mark Farina – “To Do” [Kaskade Carry On Mix]
4. Afro-Mystik – “Natural” [Kaskade Roots Remix]
5. Rithma – “Love & Music” [Kaskade Remix]
6. Naked Music NYC – “If I Fall” [Kaskade Soulshower Mix]
7. Colette – “I Didn’t Mean to Turn You On” [Kaskade Mix]
8. Mark Farina – “Cali Spaces” [Kaskade Remix]
9. Colette – “What Will She Do for Love” [Kaskade Big Room Mix]
10. King Kooba – “If I Could” [Kaskade More Pop Mix]
11. Rithma – “Builder” [Kaskade Let’s Make Out Mix]
12. Kaskade – “Steppin’ Out” [Kaskade Chill Out Mix]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: