That's My Jam

Familiar//Forgotten//Future of Dance//Pop//R&B

  • Categories

  • Follow on Twitter!

Sound Off – Home & Garden: Domesticated

Posted by ThatsMyJamRadio on January 4, 2009

The latest albums making noise

Home & Garden’s Domesticated offers jackin’ house beats and downtempo grooves, but each are spiced with experimental elements that sometimes help to complement their respective genres’ defining ingredients, and other times providing accessibility for casual dance music fans.

This is especially true on “All the Same,” a pop-style track with vocals by Colette, in which she pleads for a pursuer to leave her alone over a garage-tinged, funky house melody. Additionally, the album’s title track showcases DJ Derrick Carter’s soulful crooning effortlessly collaborating with the tune’s organic, live instrumentation.

The instrumental “El Cortez” is infused with Latin flavor and highlights clever solos from a number of musical sources. “Endless Pieces,” on the other hand, is full of bridges, choruses and verses courtesy of Lucy Woodward, and plenty of Hendrix-esque guitar riffs and ’70s disco beats to take listeners on a psychedelic trip.

Traveling the mellow road is “Sunday Morning,” featuring Mic Murphy, that’s coffeehouse cool mixed with a funky lounge vibe full of live instrumentations, synth solos and the grinding feel of early ’80s R&B. The talk-vocals of Russell Taylor make “Braille” a sexy yet gritty seduction that also embraces that Hendrix-style guitar present in “Endless Pieces.”

Domesticated walks a fine line between electronic music and the many other styles it seeks to incorporate. The effort is valiant, but may turn off some listeners looking for a straight pop or dance record. For those willing to let Home & Garden guide them through their vision, the trip is one worth traversing.

That’s My Jam’s Rating:
5. Get It Now
4. Get It On Sale
3. Get It As a Gift
2. Get It To a CD Exchange Store
1. Don’t Get It At All

Track List:
1. “Easy Going Down” with Jennifer Karr
2. “All the Same” with Colette
3. “Domesticated” with Derrick Carter
4. “El Cortez”
5. “Someday” with Lisa Shaw
6. “Endless Pieces” with Lucy Woodward
7. “Body & Soul” with Mic Murphy
8. “In And Out” with Chez Damier
9. “Wanna Walk Away” with Lisa Shaw
10. “Sunday Morning” with Mic Murphy
11. “Braille” with Russell Taylor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: